Smile on my lips

As I draw in the first breath of the day
Feel the first touch of your warmth licking the horizon
I draw in the second and drink from your vitality
A smile is drawn from my lips
This is life

As your waters touch the shore
Preparing for the day
With each receding wave a new landscape revealed
A smile is drawn from my lips
This is life

As dawn dissolves into day
The sea breeze lifts you in your flight along the shore
Your delicate feathers locked firm and strong
A smile is drawn from my lips
This is life

As children run along the beach
Cool wet sand between their toes
Delighting in unbridled joy of carefree days
A smile is drawn from my lips
This is life

As day begins to wane
Wallabies graze amongst the tea tree
Suddenly heads raised to scan the scene
A smile is drawn from my lips
This is life

As the plovers herald in the fall of night
Changing colours signal your descent
Your last rays caste a warmth across the sky
A smile is drawn from my lips
This is life

As I look toward the evening sky
Awash with your shining lights
I thank you for another day
And for the smiles you drew from my lips
For this is life

20130701_06

For all the people that I love, care for and share my life with, may this be a beautiful meditation for you too – you know who you are.

7 responses to “Smile on my lips

    • Thank you for such a wonderful compliment. Sometimes we just need to stop, look around and take it all in. Let it reinvigorate our hearts 🙂

      Like

Feel free to leave your own rambling

