Habit

20140511_160920
I try to resist you
with all of my might
but just when I’ve wrest you
I sense your sweet bite

My conscious awareness
ever alert to your cue
I attempt you to harness
yet still you get through

all energy directed toward self-control
my vain attempts to desist,
not be tempted, my ultimate goal
but alas your my habit I just can’t resist

This in (belated) response to Poetry 101 Rehab: Habit for those of us missing Writing 201 or like me looking for a creative way of escaping 🙂

3 responses to “Habit

  1. Oh yes, the addiction of love… A great take on the prompt! I was intrigued by your choice of the word “bite”, I was wondering if to interpret it literally, thinking of vampires, or figuratively, as a figure of speech. You have a lovely blog here, I’m glad that I found you! (Or you found me 😉 )

    Like

    • Ah but is it Mara? Your response made me smile. Isn’t that the beauty of poetry that we can interpret it in so many ways! Ultimately what the habit poem was about was simply that; the difficulty of breaking a habit. How even when we are consciously aware of it and might wish to break it our subconscious still manages to drag us there 🙂
      Thank you for the kind words and likewise glad I found yours.

      Like

      • Oh yes, it’s hard to break a habit but some habits don’t need breaking – like the habit of writing poetry 😉 I hope this habit will continue both for you and for me, as I’m really enjoying it. Wishing you lots of inspiration!

        Like

Feel free to leave your own rambling

